About SSFP

Newspaper Sections

Simpson Street Free Press

The History Behind Zodiac Signs

Zodiac signs are a topic of mystery for many people. Many people do not know how they came to be or what they are used for.

First, zodiacs are primarily used by some believers to predict events during various seasons. There is a long history of civilizations using astronomy to plan their way of living. Take, for example, farmers – they used the sky like it was a calendar. The ancient Egyptian travelers also used the sky, not to plan their lives, but as a compass. Zodiacs are not only for ancient travelers, but Zodiac signs show up in plenty of beliefs from ancient cultures. Noblemen from ancient China would gaze on sunspots or eclipses as bad or good signs that will fall upon the emperor.

The 12 zodiac signs were established during the Ancient Greek period and by 1500 BCE, they were equally divided into 12 signs. Those 12 signs were divided into four equal groups. It is believed that all of these ideas were invented around the time Alexander the Great took over Egypt, around 330 BCE.

The first group is fire; fire brings light from raw energy, and everything it touches burns to purge the old and create new life. The fire signs are Sagittarius, Leo, and Aries. These signs can be courageous, impulsive, and passionate. They like to express themselves and take risks with a lot of energy. They have a ton of enthusiasm.

Next, cooling off from the fire are the water signs. Water heals, nourishes, and cleanses us. The signs that belong to water are Scorpio, Pisces, and Cancer. They can be very emotional, intuitive, and sensual. They like to process experiences and situations within their inner life. They build connections in vulnerable and sensitive ways, with good knowledge of their actions and motivations, though they can end up being overly emotional. When they get very emotional, their logic disappears.

Drying off from the water signs, air is the next category. The Air signs are Gemini, Aquarius, and Libra. They can be very spontaneous while still being communicative and very intellectual. They can adapt pretty quickly but can be very curious and also can be very logical. Air signs are very free-spirited, social, and like to explore.

After the air signs, we move on to the zodiac that we live in and enjoy a nice day on: Earth. Earth signs consist of Virgo, Capricorn, and Taurus. These signs can be stable, practical, and grounded individuals. They work very hard to achieve their goals and value stability in life. However, they can be very resistant to making changes.

These zodiac signs are very interesting and believers use them to predict the future. The different zodiac signs are sectioned into fire, water, air, and Earth accordingly. These different signs demonstrate unique personalities. The zodiacs happen to be non-scientific and still appeal to many people's interest.

[Sources: New York Post; Time]

Loading Comments...